Understanding Ardor Skill Levels

Ardor reports back the student skill level using a 1 - 5 range (figure 1).  Levels 1 through 4 corresponds to Smarter Balanced level descriptors. Level 5 is a very advanced level that at grade level students should not be expected to reach.

(Figure 1)
Level 1  Novice
Level 2  Developing
Level 3  Proficient
Level 4 Advanced
Level 5 Advanced


Ardor adaptive logic will continue to create new problems at the student's skill level. A student will only advance once certain conditions are met.  

For example: Multiple Step Equations - One Variable Equations. 

To demonstrate proficiency a student will have to correctly answer different problem type variants, such as problems involving negatives, distributive property, and fractions.  A student will also have to be able to demonstrate sufficiency by getting multiple correct answers to each problem type and getting a minimum number of answers correct in a row.  (Figure 2 shows a level 3 problem variant).

(Figure 2)

Each problem type is aligned to a specific math standard. Some math standards have multiple associated problem types. The associated math standard for any given problem type can be accessed in the progress section. The progress section can be found by clicking on the info button the i icon in the upper right hand corner.  (Figure 2 shows the info button, Figure 3 shows the standard for the Multiple Step Equations problem variant.)

(Figure 3)

The teacher dashboard will show student progress reported by level. Teachers can also view the math standard for each problem type from the dashboard. The dashboard color codes the progress level. (See Figure 1 for color code definitions, Figure 4 shows the progress in the teacher dashboard.)

(Figure 4)

There are many different grading scales. The teacher will have to decide how an Ardor skill level translates into a grade used in the gradebook.  Whatever scale is used we suggest that the grade given for demonstrating proficiency be assigned to level 3.  For example using a traditional grading scale a B often indicates proficiency. (see Figure 5 for examples of possible grading scales.).

(Figure 5)

Traditional A-F Scale

Level 0    F
Level 1    D
Level 2    C
Level 3    B
Level 4+  A

Four-Point Balanced Scale.

Level 0    0
Level 1    1
Level 2    2
Level 3    3
Level 4+  4



Have more questions? Submit a request


Please sign in to leave a comment.
Powered by Zendesk